JOHN SLAVIN AWARD
Congratulations to the Norwich Devils who won the John Slavin Award for the field audits, and to all the other divisional and competition winners. Details of the best performing teams may be found here: https://www.bafra.info/info/jst/BAFANL2024.pdf
Paul Sutton - BAFRA Assistant General Secretary
DISCIPLINARY CASES
NAME | # | TEAM | CODE | Q | OFFENCE | SUSPENDED | |
New this week | |||||||
Tom-David Aghedo | 95 | London Warriors | FUC | 4 | With 0:57 remaining in the fourth quarter, #95 confronted the Referee complaining that he had been held. He continued to complain vociferously, then his language became abusive. He was penalised for Unsportsmanlike Conduct and, as this penalty was being enforced, his language became foul, abusive, and insulting. He was therefore disqualified for flagrant unsportsmanlike conduct. | *Mr Aghedo is due to serve his suspension in the next two competitive games he is registered to play in. This is likely to be the two next regular season games for the London Warriors. |
PLAY OF THE WEEK: | |
New this week | Play: 4th & 10 at the B-26. Team A attempt a Field Goal which is successful. During the play defensive lineman B93 grabbed and twisted the facemask of Offensive Lineman A68. There are 10 minutes remaining in the fourth quarter. The score is 21-0.
|
Last week | Play: Try Down from the B-3, quarterback A4 is in position to receive a shotgun snap. The snap is made by centre A79, A-3 bobbles the snap and the ball hits the ground. Running back A21 then recovers the ball and hands the ball to running back A33 at the B6. Running back A33 advances to the B-4 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball, the loose ball rolls to the B-1 yard line, where A33 recovers the ball and advances into Team B’s endzone.
The bobbled snap is a muff not a fumble, therefore any player may recover the fumble and advance the ball. As A33 recovers their own fumble, the advance is legal. (8-3-2-d-5) |
MECHANICS: | |
New this week | Game Situation: 3rd and 10, after a timeout and after the ball has been blown ready for play, Team A line up ready to snap the ball while the team B coach – unaware that the timeout is ending – continues to talk to his players at the sidelines. How should officials react to this situation?
|
Last week | Game Situation: On a five man crew, when a running play goes to the opposite side of the field, what should a Wing Official do? Answer: M11.3.b - They should stay wide but approximately level with the ball carrier’s progress. They should remain alert especially for cheap shots behind the play (“clean up”). Unless they have a penalty on the play they should not blow their whistle when the play ends. Only if the coverer marks a very inaccurate spot should they attract the attention of the coverer to their spot. This should be done unobtrusively, preferably over the radio. |
Date | Event | Contact for details |
2025 | ||
BAFRA Directors | |||||
President | David Parsons | General Secretary | Richard Moger | ||
Finance | Stuart Tabberer | Operations | Oliver Maskell | ||
Recruitment | Susannah Taylor | Training | James Ford-Bannister | ||
Director without Portfolio #1 | Peter Parsons | Director without Portfolio #2 | Steve Tonkinson |
The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors. All Incident Reports to be submitted via www.bafra.info. Deadline for articles submitted by email (newsflash@bafra.info) is midnight Tuesday. |