DISCIPLINARY CASES
NAME | # | TEAM | CODE | Q | OFFENCE | SUSPENDED | |
New this week | |||||||
Aimee-Louise Mulcahy | 44 | Hertfordshire Cheetahs (NWFL) | FPF | 2 | With around nine minutes left in the second half of the Final game of this event, #44 was seen to forcibly remove and throw the helmet of a Caledonia Chaos player across the field. | Unknown *Ms Mulcahy is due to serve hersuspension in the next game she is registered to play in. This will likely be the first game of the Hertfordshire Cheetahs 2025 NWFL Season | |
Ellis Phillips | 18 | Swindon Storm (U19) | FUC | 2 | At 19:04 in the second half, #18 shouted racial abuse towards an opponent. This was in the second game of a tournament. | Unknown *Mr Phillips due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next competitive game for the Swindon Storm U19 Team or or if he registers for a University or Senior Team, the first competitive game for that team. |
GAME MANAGEMENT REPORTS
HOME TEAM | REPORT | NEXT HOME GAME |
New this week | ||
Colchester Gladiators | Chains needed repair on two occasions. Brian Yates #29 | Unknown |
London Warriors | The lines were very faint and almost impossible to see from some angles. Keith Wickham #423 | Unknown |
Manchester Titans | 80-yard field. No nine-yard marks or numbers. No three-yard marks. There were numerous lines on the field that made it extremely difficult to identify a relevant line, compounded by the fact they were the same colour as the football lines. The yard markers were very light and blew down with the slightest bit of wind, which made it difficult to work out relative position on the field. David Hewitt #607 | Unknown |
Nottingham Caesars | Field marked in red. Coaches boxes still too close to the sideline and short yard-line extensions were too small in length. Joel Pearson #405 | Unknown |
NWFL 7s Finals | Extremely well-hosted event, all credit to Cheshire Bears for their hospitality. Fields were marked perfectly, even with the inclusion of red reference marks in the centre of the field to assist with the spotting of the ball for the start of drives and extra points. Krister Halvorsen#(77 | Unknown |
Rushmoor Knights | A very clearly marked out 100-yard field but no limit lines. Gameday management had to remove some dog mess from the field prior to kick-off, and to move a scoreboard which was positioned too close to a sideline. The goals are constructed from soccer goals with extended uprights (therefore the posts are too wide by rule, and the crossbar too low), and their stanchions/framework were of such a design that they could obstruct officials while ruling on field goals. Amir Brooks #593 | Unknown |
U19 7s Finals | Field marked out with pylons with cones at two and five yards on the sidelines. No line was present for halfway. Darren Urben #438 | Unknown |
PLAY OF THE WEEK: | |
New this week | Play: Team A 1st & 10 at the B-40. Team A run up the middle for 5 yards. Team A do no substitute at the end of the down, however Team B does. In an attempt to catch Team B with too many players on the field, Team A hurry to the line to quickly snap the ball. Team A gets set for 1 second, but before the ball is legally snapped, Wide Receiver A89 false starts. When the false start occurred Team B had 11 players in formation, two other replaced Team B players who departing where still on the field.
|
Last week | Play: 4th and Goal at the B-5 yard line. Team A are trailing by 3 points. 3 seconds remain in the game. Quarterback A12 drops back to pass, as he starts his throwing motion his arm is hit by defensive end B98, who does no touch the ball. The contact with the passers arm affects the direction of the pass, and the ball first hits offensive lineman B51 on the back of the helmet and then the ball then bounces high into the air, it is then caught by Wide Receiver A89 in the endzone. Time expired during the down.
|
MECHANICS: | |
New this week | Game Situation: On a normal scrimmage down team A line up in an I-formation with 5 linemen numbered 50 through 79, and 3 receivers. A wide and a slot receiver line up on the Line Judge's side of the field. The wide receiver indicates to the Line Judge that he is on the line, the slot receiver makes no signal to the official and it is not clear if he is lined up on or off the line of scrimmage. Team A run a pass play, all receivers run patterns more than 3 yards down field and the QB throws a legal forward pass beyond the line of scrimmage. Ruling?
|
Last week | Game Situation: On a 4 man crew, Player A34 is in position to catch a forward pass near the sideline. He jumps to catch the ball and comes down with it either in or out of bounds. How should a covering wing official watch the play in order to ensure the best possible coverage of the action? Answer: M11.4.c.1. A wing official should watch a player's feet first when an airborne player attempts to catch a ball close to the sideline. If the player lands in bounds, the official should then look to the player's hands to see if he had control. If the official looks at his hands first he may miss the instant when his feet first touch the ground. The same mechanics are true of large crews, but when working larger crews officials should attempt to establish eye-contact with their sideline colleague before ruling on the pass. |
Date | Event | Contact for details |
2025 | ||
BAFRA Directors | |||||
President | David Parsons | General Secretary | Richard Moger | ||
Finance | Stuart Tabberer | Operations | Oliver Maskell | ||
Recruitment | Susannah Taylor | Training | James Ford-Bannister | ||
Director without Portfolio #1 | Peter Parsons | Director without Portfolio #2 | Steve Tonkinson |
The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors. All Incident Reports to be submitted via www.bafra.info. Deadline for articles submitted by email (newsflash@bafra.info) is midnight Tuesday. |