Issue 30/20                                                                                4th December 2020

BAFRA Newsflash

💻       @BAFRAOfficial

  @BAFRAOfficial             @BAFRA_Official 


This has been updated on the website to reflect a couple more additions that have come to light over recent months.  

The updated list may be found in the members’ area of the website at:

Please note that a new email address has been set up for all information about BAFRA history: This will go to the BAFRA Archivist (Steve Tonkinson), the General Secretary and myself.  It should be used for reporting and adding information to the All-Time Bowl Crews list and the All-Time Members’ lists, and other historical information that will be published in the coming months.  Meanwhile, the Webmaster is working on a new format for these records and notifications will be sent as these appear live on the website.

Paul Sutton – Assistant General Secretary




New this week

Play: Team A, 4th and 7 at the A-8.  Punter A85 receives the snap and runs to his right. At the A-6, A85 kicks the ball, which bounds along the ground to the B-48 where it is fielded by B1, who returns it to the B-49 where he is tackled by A19. During the kick, A19 steps out of bounds on his own at the A-17.


Last week

Play: Inside the last minute of the first half. Team B are trailing. 1st & 10 at Team B's 20-yard line. A25 receives a handoff in the backfield and runs to Team B's 23-yard line where he throws a backwards pass to A9 who is running a reverse. The pass sails high which causes A9 to jump up at Team B's 27-yard line where he bats the ball forwards. The ball lands a few yards in front of A9 where B65 muffs the ball and it rolls across the sideline at Team B's 21-yard line. What is the next down, where will the ball next be snapped from? What Clock options do Team B have?

Ruling: The next down will be 1st down and will be snapped from Team B's 37-yard line. A9’s bat is illegal (9-4-2) and enforced as a basic spot foul (10-2-2-b, 10-2-2-c-1). This is a backward pass and not a fumble so the game clock will start on the snap (3-3-2-d-2). There is no runoff option as the backward pass was not to conserve time.


New this week

Game Situation: On which side of the field should a referee on a 4 man crew position himself before a scrimmage kick play?  How does his position need to vary between a 4 and a 5 man crew?

Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: Midway through the 2nd quarter, a person arrives at the game site. They dress as a player wearing number 25. They enter the field of play and score a touchdown on Offense.

Before the Try, the Team B Head Coach takes a timeout to request a Head Coach’s conference, during which he asserts that A25 should not have been permitted to play as he had arrived late and not presented himself to the opposition side line.

A person matching the identity of A25 is listed on the roster under jersey number 25.

Answer: Under BAFA Regulations there is no requirement for a late arriving person to present himself. As long as the person is listed on the roster at the start of the game, they may participate in the game.(BR5.1).

As no rule enforcement has been changed, Team B will be charged with a full team timeout (3-3-4)




Contact for details


20th February (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

27th - 28th March (Sat-Sun)

BAFRA Convention

15th May (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

17th July (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

13th November (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Richard Moger


Roger Brown


Roger Goodgroves


Ollie Maskell


James Ford-Bannister

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email:

Page  of