Issue 25/20                                                                                8th October 2020

BAFRA Newsflash

💻       @BAFRAOfficial

  @BAFRAOfficial             @BAFRA_Official 


The BAFRA Selection committee is pleased to announce that the following officials have been selected to be put forward to BAFA as our chosen representatives on the IFAF Europe Officiating Panel (Contact Football). Should BAFA and IFAF accept our nominations, these officials will serve for the next two IFAF competition cycles.

Griffiths, Ben  

Parsons, David

Parsons, Peter

Wickham, Keith  

Young, Stuart

Paterson, Euan  (Alternate)

Sombati, Shawn (Alternate)  

Wooton, Liam (Alternate)

Please join with the Committee and the Directors in congratulating these officials on their nominations.

Roger Goodgroves - Director of Operations and Selection Committee Chair


As you are aware, we are now in the membership renewal period. Renewal forms have now been sent to all members. If you have not received yours please check your spam folder and if you still cannot find it, please contact me. Details of payments, which as always include the BAFRA and BAFA fees, will be on the form along with details on how to pay. Those recently joined are exempt from payment and this was made clear in the email along with details of anyone due a rebate.

If you anticipate having difficulty in paying, please contact the Director of Finance (via to discuss a payment plan. This will only be seen by the Director of Finance and his deputy in the strictest of confidence.

As always, there is an annual survey of membership that goes along with the renewal process which you are requested to complete. Information gathered from this exercise is used to inform BAFRA policy going forwards.

Thank you to those who have already renewed. I will, from next week, publish a list of renewals. In addition, please note that all renewals are acknowledged.

In the unlikely event that you are not renewing, please let me know (with your reasons if you wish to share them).

Richard Moger – General Secretary



New this week

Play: Team A kick off to start the game. B88 makes a fair catch at Team B’s 12-yard line. A30 was offside at the kick. If Team B wish to keep the ball where will the next snap take place.


Last week

Play: 3rd & 10 at Team A's 4-yard line. A1 hands the ball to A25 in the backfield. A25 carries the ball to Team A's 2-yard line and fumbles the ball which is recovered by B13 at Team A's 6-yard line. B13 then fumbles the ball at Team A's 3-yard line and the ball rolls into Team A's end zone. As the ball is rolling in the end zone, B13 bats it backwards and it crosses the sideline at Team A's 5-yard line.

Ruling: B13’s bat is illegal as it is in the endzone (9-4-1-c). This foul is enforced at the spot of B13’s fumble (10-2-2-d-1-c, 10-2-2-c-2) which is the end of the related run (2-30-4-c). Team B retain possession (R5-2-4)


New this week

Game Situation: Team A break the huddle with 20 seconds remaining on the play clock. The Umpire notices that Tight End is not wearing knee pads, how should the crew handle this?

Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: On 4th Down Team A line up to punt from the A-45 yard line. Returner B-89 lines up to return the punt at the B-9 yard line. On a crew of 5 where should the Back Judge stand?

Answer: When the Punt returner is inside Team B’2 10-yard line the Back Judge should be in an initial position on the goal line in the middle of the field. M12.7.b.2




Contact for details


14th November (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting


27th - 28th March (Sat-Sun)

BAFRA Convention

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Richard Moger


Roger Brown


Roger Goodgroves


Ollie Maskell


James Ford-Bannister

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email:

Page  of