Issue 24/20                                                                                24th September 2020

BAFRA Newsflash

💻       @BAFRAOfficial

  @BAFRAOfficial             @BAFRA_Official 


Membership renewals are due from 1st  October, the forms for which will be sent out to all members before the end of September. Details of payments, which include both the BAFRA and BAFA fees, will be on the form in addition to details of how to pay.

As always, during the renewal process, there will be the annual members survey included with the renewal letter.

All renewal information will be sent electronically so please ensure that your email address is up to date on the website.

Richard Moger – General Secretary




New this week

Play: 3rd & 10 at Team A's 4-yard line. A1 hands the ball to A25 in the backfield. A25 carries the ball to Team A's 2-yard line and fumbles the ball which is recovered by B13 at Team A's 6-yard line. B13 then fumbles the ball at Team A's 3-yard line and the ball rolls into Team A's end zone. As the ball is rolling in the end zone, B13 bats it backwards and it crosses the sideline at Team A's 5-yard line.


Last week

Play: 4th & 10 at midfield. Team A line up to punt. Punter A1 catches the snap and, in order to escape onrushing B56, carries the ball outside the tackle box before punting it downfield. After A1 has kicked the ball, B56 makes forcible contact to the head and neck area of A1. B20 fair catches the kick at Team B’s 20-yard line.

Ruling:  B56 is guilty of Targeting, but not Roughing the Kicker. The penalty will be enforced at the previous spot. 1st & 10 for Team A at Team B’s 35-yard line. B56 is disqualified.

This is not Roughing the kicker because A1 carried the ball outside the tackle box (9-1-16-a-4) however A1 is defenceless (2-27-14-c) so this is targeting (9-1-4). This is not a post-scrimmage kick enforcement as the previous spot is listed in the penalty of 9-1-16 for personal fouls against the kicker (including targeting). AR 9-1-16-VII covers this type of scenario.


New this week

Game Situation: On 4th Down Team A line up to punt from the A-45 yard line. Returner B-89 lines up to return the punt at the B-9 yard line. On a crew of 5 where should the Back Judge stand?

Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: Early in the game Team A make a late substitution and Team B starts to make matching substitutions.The Referee instructs the Umpire to move towards the ball and prohibit Team A from snapping the ball so Team B can complete it’s substitutions. Team A quickly snap the ball. This is the first time this has happened in the game.

Answer: If Team A snaps the ball in a situation where they have been asked not to (e.g. while Team B are being allowed to make matching substitutions), for a first offence shut down the play and issue a warning. Penalise for Delay of Game on the second or subsequent instance. (M3.4.1.e).




Contact for details


14th November (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting


27th - 28th March (Sat-Sun)

BAFRA Convention

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Richard Moger


Roger Brown


Roger Goodgroves


Ollie Maskell


James Ford-Bannister

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email:

Page  of