Issue 23/20                                                                                16th September 2020

BAFRA Newsflash

💻 http://www.bafra.info       @BAFRAOfficial

  @BAFRAOfficial             @BAFRA_Official 


MEMBERSHIP RENEWALS - ADVANCE NOTICE

Membership renewals are due from 1st  October, the forms for which will be sent out to all members before the end of September. Details of payments, which include both the BAFRA and BAFA fees, will be on the form in addition to details of how to pay.

As always, during the renewal process, there will be the annual members survey included with the renewal letter.

All renewal information will be sent electronically so please ensure that your email address is up to date on the website.

Richard Moger – General Secretary

secretary@bafra.info

 

END ZONE

PLAY OF THE WEEK:

New this week

Play: 4th & 10 at midfield. Team A line up to punt. Punter A1 catches the snap and, in order to escape onrushing B56, carries the ball outside the tackle box before punting it downfield. After A1 has kicked the ball, B56 makes forcible contact to the head and neck area of A1. B20 fair catches the kick at Team B’s 20-yard line.


Ruling?

Last week

Play: During the first possession series of extra-periods B37 intercepts a forward pass and has a clear field to the goalline when he makes an obscene gesture toward the nearest opponent.


Ruling:  Team B’s score is cancelled and the penalty is carried over. Team B begins its possession series on the 40-yard line, 1st and 10. (Rules 3-1-3, 10-2-7-a and 10-2-7-b, AR3-1-3:XIV)

MECHANICS:

New this week

Game Situation: Early in the game Team A make a late substitution and Team B starts to make matching substitutions.The Referee instructs the Umpire to move towards the ball and prohibit Team A from snapping the ball so Team B can complete it’s substitutions. Team A quickly snap the ball. This is the first time this has happened in the game.


Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: Team A 3rd & 5 at Midfield. Tight End A83 is lined up to the left of the formation. Defensive End B91 lines up immediately opposite A83

Team A attempts a sweep to the right hand side of the field. A83 charges takes one step forward and attempts to block B91. A83 is out of position and blocks B91 in the back.

Running back A25 gains 6 yards before he is pushed out of bounds at the B-44 yard line.


Answer: This foul should not be called as it does not affect the result of the play. Before calling a Block in the Back foul, you should apply the same conditions as you would apply for holding. This foul is not conspicuous and does not affect the play. (M3.3.5.a, M3.3.1.a.ii & M3.2.2.b).

CALENDAR

Date

Event

Contact for details

2020

14th November (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

secretary@bafra.info

2021

27th - 28th March (Sat-Sun)

BAFRA Convention

convention@bafra.info

BAFRA Directors

President

David Parsons

president@bafra.info

General Secretary

Richard Moger

secretary@bafra.info

Finance

Roger Brown

finance@bafra.info

Operations

Roger Goodgroves

operations@bafra.info

Recruitment

Ollie Maskell

recruitment@bafra.info

Training

James Ford-Bannister

training@bafra.info

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

dwp1@bafra.info

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

dwp2@bafra.info

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via www.bafra.info.

Deadline for articles submitted by email (newsflash@bafra.info) is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email: newsflash@bafra.info

Page  of