Issue 20/20                                                                                8th July 2020

BAFRA Newsflash

💻       @BAFRAOfficial

  @BAFRAOfficial             @BAFRA_Official 


BAFRA Finance's postal address has now changed. Please use the following address for any BAFRA Finance correspondence.  

BAFRA Ltd c/o Stuart Tabberer

30 Clover Ground



Please take this opportunity to recycle all old invoices and paperwork with incorrect address details.  

Stuart Tabberer - BAFRA Deputy Director of Finance



New this week

Play: 2nd & 8 at Team’s B 40-yard line. 1:56 remains in the second quarter. A66 snaps the ball high to quarterback A10 who has to jump to control the snap. Whilst still airborne at Team B’s 45-yard line, A10 pitches the ball forwards to A88 who has run across the front of A10. A88 runs wide to the right and runs out of bounds at Team B’s 30-yard line. During A88’s run, B24 blocks A73 below the waist 6 yards beyond the neutral zone.

What is the next down and distance. When will the clock start?


Last week

Play: A goal-line pylon is lying diagonally inbounds, with its base still partially in its normal position. The ball carrier dives towards it and the ball touches the nearest point of the pylon (which is about 12 inches short of the goal line) before the player flies over the pylon and first touches the ground in the end zone. Ruling?

Ruling:  Under the modified pylon rule (1-2-6), we need to consider whether this is a displaced pylon. It is NOT, because part of it is still in its normal position. It is however out of bounds, so when the ball touches it, the ball becomes dead immediately. Since the ball has not at that point broken the plane of the goal line, no touchdown is scored. The succeeding spot is the 12-inch line where the ball touched the pylon.

Note that the ball or the ball carrier touching a pylon merely extends the plane of the goal line (Rule 8-2-1-a) - it does not move it. So the ball still needs to cross the plane to score a touchdown and it needs to do this before the ball is dead.


New this week

Game Situation: On a crew of 8, the widest player in the offensive formation on the press-box side of the field is A9. A81 is stood inside A9. There are no other players on the press-box side of the formation. A81 goes in motion towards the press box side line and is the widest player at the snap. which official should key on A81?

Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: On a five man crew, when a running play goes to the opposite side of the field, what should a Wing Official do?

Answer: M11.3.b - They should stay wide but approximately level with the ball carrier’s progress. They should remain alert especially for cheap shots behind the play (“clean up”). Unless they have a penalty on the play they should not blow their whistle when the play ends. Only if the coverer marks a very inaccurate spot should they attract the attention of the coverer to their spot. This should be done unobtrusively, preferably over the radio.




Contact for details


18h July (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

14th November (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting


27th - 28th March (Sat-Sun)

BAFRA Convention

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Richard Moger


Roger Brown


Roger Goodgroves


Ollie Maskell


James Ford-Bannister

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email:

Page  of