BAFRA CHARITY 2019
I regret that the Gremlins got into last weeks’ report about the BAFRA Charity for 2019. It should, of course, have read £1200 was raised for Pancreatic Cancer UK in memory of Norman Cox, and not as reported. Apologies for the error.
Paul Sutton – General Secretary
DISCIPLINARY CASES
NAME | # | TEAM | CODE | Q | OFFENCE | SUSPENDED | |
New this week | |||||||
Paul Ross | 69 | Clyde Valley Blackhawks | FPF | 1 | The player was seen to headbutt an opponent after the play was over | *Mr. Ross is due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next regular season game for Clyde Valley Blackhawks or the first regular season game of a University or Adult Team if he registers for a University or Adult Team. | |
Lewis Smith | 56 | East Kilbride Pirates Junior | TGT | 2 | With 5min 44 remaining in the second quarter East Kilbride player #56 struck an opposition player with the crown of his helmet after the ball was dead. | 1st September 2019 vs London Blitz Junior | |
Andrew Higgott | 71 | Halton Spartans | FPF | 4 | After committing a false start, #71 paused then lunged into an unsuspecting defender, crushing him to the ground. | 7th September 2019 v Inverclyde Goliaths | |
Daniel Mackenzie | 20 | London Warriors | TUF | 2 | With 3:58 remaining in the second quarter, the player was heard to taunt and insult an opponent, and received his second unsportsmanlike penalty of the game. | 1st September 2019 v Tamworth Phoenix | |
Frankie Pankhurst | 60 | South Wales Warriors | FGT | 1 | The player was observed to deliberately headbutt an opponent. | 31st August 2019 v Bournemouth Bobcats | |
Previous weeks | |||||||
Andrew Carr | 20 | Chorley Buccaneers | FGT | 4 | With just over 9 minutes left in the 4th quarter, #20 head butted a Highland Wildcats receiver. | *Mr. Carr is due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next regular season game for Chorley Buccaneers or the first regular season game of a University or Adult Team if he registers for a University or Adult Team. | |
Alex Coatsworth | 33 | Darlington Steam | TGT | 4 | Immediately following a pass Darlington player #33 struck the Dumfries passer's head with his forearm. | *Mr Coatsworth is due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next regular season game for Darlington Steam or the first regular season game of a University Team if he registers for a University Team. | |
Benjamin Collis | 1 | London Hornets | TUF | 4 | During the 4th quarter number 1 received a second unsportsmanlike penalty and was disqualified. | *Mr Collis is due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next regular season game for Darlington Steam or the first regular season game of a University Team if he registers for a University Team. | |
Leslie Adufo | 45 | Portsmouth Dreadnoughts | TGT | 2 | With 2.23 remaining in the 2nd quarter, #45 was seen to initiate a helmet to helmet block. As this came from the blindside, the offended player was deemed defenseless and #45 was ejected under rule 9-1-4. | *Mr. Adufo is due to serve his suspension in the next game he is registered to play in. This is either the next regular season game for Portsmouth Dreadnoughts or the first regular season game of a University Team if he registers for a University Team. | |
GAME MANAGEMENT REPORTS
HOME TEAM | REPORT | NEXT HOME GAME |
New this week | ||
Birmingham Bulls | Brief stoppage to repair the chain set in first half. 50 minute delay in 3rd Quarter due to injury of an Inverclyde player, which required an ambulance. Krister Halvorsen #217 | Unknown |
East Kilbride Pirates Junior | Field markings had NFL hash marks, so the correct width with was marked with pylons behind the goals. Ian Sneddon #427 | Unknown |
London Blitz Junior | One ball boy changed at half time. Henry Young #486 | Unknown |
London Warriors | Field marked as per normal on the 3G. No lockable changing rooms, with the officials using the public changing rooms for the gym. Steven Leonard #370 | Unknown |
Solent Thrashers | Cross bar of both goals are infield by approximately two yards from the endline. David Knight #135 | Unknown |
South Wales Warriors | One ballboy was changed at half time. Amir Brooks #593 | Unknown |
Tamworth Phoenix | Very faint lines and we asked for the goal lines to be remarked prior to kick off. Brian Yates #29 | Unknown |
Outstanding items from previous weeks | ||
PLAY OF THE WEEK: | |
New this week | Play:
|
Last week | Play: Team A 1st and 10 at the A-45 yard line. There are 10 seconds remaining in the first half. Team A do not inform the officials that they are going “to take a knee” however they line up in a typical “Victory formation”. Quarterback A12 takes the snap under centre, he fakes taking a knee and then throws a pass to Tight End A80 who is uncovered by the defense and is able to advance the ball across Team B’s goal line. There is no time remaining on the game clock.
|
Correction | In Newsflash 30/19 the following scenario was posted: Team A free kick at the A-35. During the free kick, B21 signals for a fair catch at the B-10 while moving backwards. He muffs the kick into the air at the B-9 and completes the catch (before it hits the ground) at the B-7. The answer published in Newsflash 31/19 gave the ball to team B and the B-10. This interpretation was by Steve Shaw NCAA secretary-rules editor. This interpretation is only applicable to NCAA Football and not IFAF Football. Therefore the correct answer is Team B’s ball, 1st and 10 at the B-9, clock on the snap. |
MECHANICS: | |
New this week | Game Situation: Near the end of the first half, Team A have the ball it is 1st & Goal at the B-9, there are 18 seconds remaining in the period, Team A are out of timeouts. Team A attempt a pass play and A80 catches the ball at the B-3. The covering official rules that A80 is tackled at the B-½ yard line. The game clock reads 12 seconds remaining in the period when the play ends, Team A are unable to snap the ball before the period expires. The Referee declares the half over. After reviewing a replay, the Video Judge believes that A-80 may have scored a Touchdown.
|
Last week | Game Situation: Team A, 4th & 12 at the B-24. Team A attempt a forward pass. A9 catches the ball close to the sideline at the B-9 yard line, there is 2:09 remaining on the game clock in the 2nd quarter. The game is being played with a Video Judge. As this is a close call the covering official reports over the crew radio that he ruled it a catch because he saw A-9 get one foot down in-bounds with possession of the ball prior to going out-of-bounds. Without stopping the game, the Video Judge then confirms he has seen a replay that confirms the call is correct. The Team B Head Coach then takes a timeout to request a review of the play.
If the ruling on the field is not changed, the Team B Head Coach should be charged a timeout and he his privilege to request further reviews will be revoked for the remainder of the game. It would be appropriate for the Wing Officials near the Team B Head Coach to tell the coach informally that the play isn’t worth challenging prior to him making a request for a formal review. |
Date | Event | Contact for details |
BAFRA Board Meeting | ||
4th - 5th April (Sat-Sun) | BAFRA Convention | |
BAFRA Directors | |||||
President | David Parsons | General Secretary | Paul Sutton | ||
Finance | Roger Brown | Operations | Roger Goodgroves | ||
Recruitment | Ollie Maskell | Training | Tzvi Lindeman | ||
Director without Portfolio #1 | Peter Parsons | Director without Portfolio #2 | Steve Tonkinson | ||
The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors. All Incident Reports to be submitted via www.bafra.info. Deadline for articles submitted by email (newsflash@bafra.info) is midnight Tuesday. |