Issue 38/18                                                                                10th October 2018

BAFRA Newsflash





Membership renewals are now due. Those renewed by 10:00pm on Tuesday 9th October are:


Stuart Alger; Dave Allan; Graham Baker; Robert Banks; Andrew Binns; Tom Blakeson; Bill Bowsher; Mark Bridgham; Jim Briggs; Roger Brown; Rose Carter; Mike Cavanagh; Adam Ceney; Alan Christopher; Daniel Clarke; Nathan Coates; David Cochrane; Ian Davies; Alan Dobson; Steve Egan; Mike Fenton; James Ford-Bannister; Ban Gadsby; Ronnie Gaffin; Roger Goodgroves; Ray Grace; Benita Grant-Booker; Gerry Grunska; Steve Hall; Mike Hansford; Ewan Harris; Gareth Hughes; Jon Ikins; Barbara Jacquin; Anton Jarbol; Chris Jarvis; Damian Jurzyk; Fletcher Kinnie; Bill LeMonnier; Andrew Lovell; Will Marriage; Ollie Maskell; Ali May; Tom Mayer; Chris McCrea; Bud McFennen; Frank McParlin; Jason Mead; Clyde Messenger; Adrian Miller; Russell Newton; Alex Nunns; Tim Ockendon; Cédric Palmans; Toby Papworth; Pete Parsons; Euan Paterson; Austin Pickles; Richard Prattley; Tony Rivers; Mike Roberts; Conrad Russell; Owen Samuels; Ian Sneddon; Leanne Spencer; Paul Sutton; Lee Taylor; Pete Thom; Malcolm Turnbull; Harald von.Sydow; Richard Whitby; Simon Williams; Mark Wilson; Liam Wooton; Dean Wright; Brian Yates; Charles Young; Henry Young;


All renewals are acknowledged. If you think that you should be on the above list and are not there, please let me know. Those being renewed automatically will be on next week’s list.


Renewal forms may be returned electronically or to the postal address on the form. Payment may be made by cheque/postal order made payable to BAFRA Ltd. (to the address on the form) or electronically to:


PAYEE:               BAFRA Ltd.

Sort Code:            16-16-11

Account:              10255350

If using this method, please your name and BAFRA number as reference:  (e.g. Roger Brown 469) and e-mail your confirmation of payment to


Each year we get a small number of people who make a payment for their renewal but do not return their form. This delays the renewal process and may result in your membership being suspended whilst the anomaly is resolved. With the new data protection regulations that came into force in May 2018 your renewal will indicate that you are happy for BAFRA to contact you.


As in previous years, there is a survey attached to the renewal letter which you can either return to me or directly submit via the website. Your views help the directors by informing their discussions. When completing it on-line it is important that, once finished, you click on the “submit” button. If you do not do this, your survey will not be added to the database.


Finally, occasionally we get members who, for whatever reason, are unable to make their membership renewal payment within the specified timescale. If this applies to you, you must contact Roger Brown, Director of Finance, via to agree a payment plan. This will of course, be conducted in strict confidence.


I look forward to welcoming you as a BAFRA member for a further year.


Paul Sutton - General Secretary


Production of the 2019 edition of the rulebook has started. Already most of the NCAA changes have been incorporated; the IFAF rule change process is well advanced; and the BAFA Rules Committee is about to ponder our national variations.

If you would be willing to proof read some sections, please let me know. The more people who volunteer, the less each person needs to do. You don't have to be a rules expert to do this - just able to compare two documents side by side. However, it is a good way to learn the rules at a very detailed level, so even rookie officials would be able to do it. Full instructions are provided.

Jim Briggs










New this week

Previous weeks - none





New this week

Outstanding items from previous weeks



New this week

Play: A's ball, 4th and 2, on A's 24. Team A is in a scrimmage kick formation. A38 takes the short snap and advances to A's 49 where he is downed. Team A had five players in the backfield at the snap. A78 clipped B96 on A's 36 during the down.


Last week

Play: A's ball, 3rd and 6, on B's 12. B37 intercepts A14's legal forward pass in B's end zone. B37 is hit while still in B's end zone and fumbles. B84 recovers in B's end zone, advances and is downed on B's 2. During B37's run, A77 is called for an facemask foul on B's 8.

Ruling: B's ball, 1st and 10, on B's 15. B37's run ended in B's end zone after a change of team possession in B's end zone. The ball did not remain in B's end zone so the 15-yard penalty is enforced from B's goal line. (10-2-2-d-c)


New this week

Game Situation: On an 8 man crew, when covering a goal line play near the Team A goal line, under what circumstances do the wing men have primary responsibility for the goal line?

Answer next issue…

Last week

Game Situation: All officials carry a bean bag as part of their on-field equipment.  Which officials should carry at least 2 bean bags?

Answer: All officials should carry at least two bean bags to use to mark spots other than sots of fouls (MM 21.1.1)




Contact for details


November 17th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting


February 23rd (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

April 6th (Sat)


May 11th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

July 20th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

November 16th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Paul Sutton


Roger Brown


Richard Vernon


Lee Taylor


Tzvi Lindeman

Director without Portfolio #1

Peter Parsons

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Ben Griffiths - Email:

Page  of